Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Cincinnati VA Medical Center

 

Events Calendar



Search Events

MINDFUL MEDITATION CLASSES: Mindful Body Scan

Date: Friday, February 15, 2019
Location: This class will be offered via telephone 1-800-767-1750 with Access Code 54220#
Web Site: https://www.warrelatedillness.va.gov/warrelatedillness/education/local-offerings/support/Mindfulness-Meditation-Class-flyer.pdf
   
TWO MINDFUL MEDITATION CLASSES will be offered monthly to Veterans; one topic the first two Fridays of each month.
 
Take any or all classes! We encourage you to take as many as you can!
 
NOVEMBER 2018 – MARCH 2019 DATES:
TIME:
11am – 12 noon, Eastern Standard Time (EST)
10am – 11am, Central Standard Time (CST)
9am – 10am, Mountain Standard Time (MST)
8am – 9am, Pacific Standard Time (PST)
 
LOCATION: This class will be offered via telephone using a toll free number:
1-800-767-1750 with Access Code 54220#
 
FACILITATOR: Doreen Korn RN, MA, AHN-BC, HWNC-BC
Integrative Health Coordinator and War Related Illness and Injury Study Center (WRIISC) Educator, VANJHCS
 
NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
 
FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Call Debbie Skeete-Bernard, RN, MSN at 1-973-676-1000, extension 2714.
 
LEARN about our other Phone-based Meditation Class on Yoga Sleep (iRest®) at:
 
 
FOR MORE INFORMATION: Email Louise Mahoney at louise.mahoney2@va.gov or call her at 1-650-815-9463.
 
MINDFULNESS MEDITATION is an evidenced–based, VA-supported mind-body technique that helps you face the challenges and stressors of everyday life.
 
Research has shown a connection between your mind and your body that can be used to improve health. When your mind is relaxed and focused on healing, your body can relax and focus on healing too. Meditation can be safely used in conjunction with other medical treatments such as prescribed medication or exercise.
 
Mindfulness Meditation teaches acceptance and awareness of what’s going on around you as well as what’s going on inside of you.
 
It has been effective in treating health conditions such as insomnia, anxiety, high blood pressure, chronic pain and PTSD.
 
Mindfulness Meditation can be practiced sitting down, lying down, stretching, eating, even while walking the dog!