Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Cincinnati VA Medical Center

 

Events Calendar



Search Events

MINDFULNESS MEDITATION from your Home

Date: Friday, October 12, 2018
Time: 9:00 AM- 10:00 AM (EST)  
Location: MINDFULNESS MEDITATION from your Home
Web Site: https://www.warrelatedillness.va.gov/warrelatedillness/education/local-offerings/support/Mindfulness-Meditation-Class-flyer.pdf
   
MINDFULNESS MEDITATION is an evidenced–based, VA-supported mind-body technique that helps you face the challenges and stressors of everyday life.

Research has shown a connection between your mind and your body that can be used to improve health. When your mind is relaxed and focused on healing, your body can relax and focus on healing too. Meditation can be safely used in conjunction with other medical treatments such as prescribed medication or exercise.

Mindfulness Meditation teaches acceptance and awareness of what’s going on around you as well as what’s going on inside of you. It has been effective in treating health conditions such as insomnia, anxiety, high blood pressure, chronic pain and PTSD.

Mindfulness Meditation can be practiced sitting down, lying down, stretching, eating, even while walking the dog!

TWO MINDFUL MEDITATION CLASSES will be offered monthly beginning in August to Veterans; one topic the first two Fridays of each month. Take any or all classes! We encourage you to take as many as you can!
 
August – October 2018 DATES:
     •  August 3rd and 10th        Mindful Breathing
     •  September 7th and 14th  Mindful Body Scan
     •  October 5th and 12th      Mindful Movement
 
TIME:
11am – 12 noon, Eastern Standard Time (EST)
10am – 11am, Central Standard Time (CST)
9am – 10am, Mountain Standard Time (MST)
8am – 9am, Pacific Standard Time (PST)
 
LOCATION: This class will be offered via telephone using a toll free number: 1-800-767-1750 with Access Code 54220#
 
FACILITATOR: Doreen Korn RN, MA, AHN-BC, HWNC-BC Integrative Health Coordinator and War Related Illness and Injury Study Center (WRIISC) Educator, VANJHCS
 
NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
 
FOR MORE INFORMATION: Call Debbie Skeete-Bernard, RN, MSN at 1-973-676-1000, extension 2714.